Skip to main content
  • North: min
  • West: min
  • South: min
  • Jackson: min

Shannon receives special care nursery state designation

Hospital news | Friday, September 15, 2017

The Texas Department of State Health Services designated Shannon Medical Center as a Level II Neonatal Facility (Special Care Nursery) in Perinatal Care Region-K. This state designation is valid for a three-year period.

"Shannon is to be commended for its commitment to ensure quality care for neonatal patients in their area," says John Hellerstedt, MD, Texas DSHS Commissioner.

The designation comes as a result of legislation passed in 2013 requiring Texas to establish and implement neonatal and maternal level of care designations by March 1, 2018, with the intent of ensuring neonatal special care and intensive care units have the resources and expertise to provide high-quality patient care that leads to the best outcomes for newborn patients and their families.

Texas is one of the first states requiring neonatal care units to undergo a site visit to verify the level of care provided to patients meets the Neonatal Levels of Care classifications as defined in the Texas Administrative Code. Completing the designation process by Sept. 1, 2018 is a requirement to receive Medicaid reimbursement for neonatal services in the future.

"Shannon was the first level II neonatal unit in Texas to be surveyed by the Texas EMS Trauma and Acute Care Foundation (TETAF), and one of the first level II neonatal units to receive designation," says Stacie Elizondo, BSN, RNC-MNN, Shannon Women's & Children's Hospital Administrative Director. "As a level II Special Care Nursery, San Angelo and the surrounding communities can expect that Shannon will continue to provide the same level of specialty and intensive care that our patients and families are accustomed to."

Health e-newsletter